Rocky Mountain


Home of the

Colorado – Montana – Wyoming State Conference

The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) was founded in 1909 by a multi-racial, multi-ethnic group of freedom fighters to end the epidemic of lynchings at the turn of the century. Our Founders include W.E.B. DuBois, Mary White Ovington and Ida B. Wells-Barnett.

Sign Up For Our Newsletter!


The NAACP mission is to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination wherever it exists.


The NAACP vision is a society in which all individuals have equal rights without discrimination based on race.


The NAACP State Area Conference coordinates the civil rights activities of freedom fighters and game-changing activists in our three states, and helps move forward the policies and initiatives of the NAACP National Board of Directors and our National Office Staff.

Units of the NAACP CO MT WY State Area Conference

NAACP Aurora Branch
NAACP Aurora Youth Council
NAACP Billings-Bozeman Organizing Committee
NAACP Boulder County Branch
NAACP Boulder County Youth Council Organizing Committee
NAACP Cheyenne Branch
NAACP Cheyenne Youth Council
NAACP Colorado Springs Branch
NAACP Colorado Springs Youth Council
NAACP Colorado College Chapter
NAACP Denver Branch
NAACP Douglas County Organizing Committee
NAACP Lewis & Clark County Organizing Committee
NAACP Pueblo Branch
NAACP Weld County Organizing Committee

Leaders of the NAACP CO MT WY State Area Conference

Leadership Team:

  • State President, Portia Prescott
  • 1st Vice President, Annette James
  • 2nd Vice President, Harvest Thomas
  • 3rd Vice President, Pastor Thomas Mayes
  • State Treasurer, Brian Arnold/Asst. Treas, Mary Jefferson
  • State Secretary, Shikima “Kym” Ray/Asst. Sec., Chartashia Miller

Executive Committee:

  • State Political Action & Civic Engagement Co-chairs,
    Cherry-Rose Anderson (Boulder) and Maisha Fields (Denver)

  • State Health Chair, Sheila Davis, MD (Boulder)
  • State Religious Affairs Director, Pastor Thomas Mayes (Aurora)

Executive Committee Chairs:

  • Richard Lewis, State State Armed Services & Veteran Affairs Committee Chair
  • Lisa Neal-Graves, State Economic Development Committee Chair
  • Jay Langford, State Community Coordination Chair
  • Dani Newsum, State Women In NAACP (WIN) Committee Chair
  • Dr. Anne Keke, State Education Committee Chair
  • Portia Prescott, State Environmental and Climate Justice Committee Chair
  • Brian Arnold, State Finance Chair
  • Walter Huff, State Housing Committee Chair
  • Danielle Young-Kombo, State Labor and Industry Chair
  • Steven Paletz, State Legal Redress Chair
  • Natalie Yao, Antonio Navarro & Dwight Thompson -State Communications, Press and Publicity Committee Chair
  • Councilwoman Marlo Alston & Rep. Naquetta Ricks, State Freedom Fund Committee Chair
  • Josh Jackson, State Criminal Justice Committee Chair
  • Harvest Thomas, Parliamentarian

Branch Presidents:

  • C. Omar Montgomery – Aurora Branch President
  • Annette James – Boulder Branch President
  • Angela Stevens – Colorado Springs Branch President
  • Sondra Young – Denver Branch President
  • Roxana Mack – Pueblo Branch President
  • Pastor Stephen Latham – Cheyenne, WY Branch President